One Time

We collaborated with an amazing artist from soundcloud for our two new tracks. His style was so distinct and so original, and our writing for the tracks just came to us.

But I’m actually writing because I’m so, so enraged by what has been happening to black people in the states and beyond. I wrote “One Time” with that feeling of missing someone and it came out sounding as if they were haunting you. Everything reminds you of them, kind of feeling. When Eyeda wrote her rap she spun it so well, talking about the social injustice that specifically  mentions police cruelty. The spin of what I wrote almost makes it seem like the one I’ve been missing has passed away. In the context of our society right now it’s an incredibly dark feeling.

Over the last ten years I would always tell people that “things are getting better! Look around, how can you say it hasn’t changed since then?” I knew there was still racism but I thought we could see the progress. But since the news of what has been happening I’ve second guessed a lot of things. Is it just because I live in Toronto, where people are more tolerant? Is it just because I’m not racist, so I’m unable to see what’s still the same?

Regardless, the fact that the one committing these murders and tortures are the police is nothing less than DISTURBING. The irony of them being the peace keepers is disgusting and the sad reality is if black people can’t turn to the police then what? Does white America not have the answer?

I do not condone the riots because it’s giving entitled people a reason to point fingers. But I do believe in action being taken and I’m happy people are rising up. This past Saturday Toronto had a rally and the support shown was just beautiful.

But now the question is: what next?
For the people I just hope their efforts are witnessed by the government. Obama needs to stay true to his words of making change, and make haste in putting out some sort of police reform.

For us as The Mizfit Collective, you can fucking bet we will be singing “One Time” and preaching out to our audiences about injustice. We have 0 tolerance for bigotry like what is happening, and we will be fighting to rid ourselves of it.

Leave a comment